Skip to content

Happy Seedlings!

September 2, 2011

Let me tell you something, that true Siberian kale, it’s hardcore. Those seeds were the first to germinate, and are now the biggest and most developed…And I anticipate, due, not only to the name, but also to the labeling, they will be the hardiest & tastiest come winter.

“Extremely cold hardy, True Siberian can be picked throughout winter in many areas. Kale becomes more tender, mild, and sweet after a frost.”

For those of you who might be thinking I’m a seasoned health food fiend, or a seasoned gardener… I’m NOT… I only discovered kale (and eating healthy) just a couple of years ago.  Not only is this the first time I’ve ever grown kale, it’s the first time I’ve grown ANYTHING from seed! With a little research and some dedication, many things are possible!  Kale is great raw in salads, sautéed with garlic & olive oil, and even baked into crispy “chips!” I am so grateful to Christie Hubbard for introducing me to kale (and to homemade pesto, beets, & quinoa for that matter)! Those 3 months she lived with us were a whirlwind, and we didn’t see much of each other between her crazy midwifery training and my busy family schedule, but I STILL draw inspiration from those few moments we did spend together .

The True Siberian in my garden! I can't believe these were just seeds 2 weeks ago!

The True Siberian in my garden! I can't believe these were just seeds 2 weeks ago!

My dolce vita spinach, in contrast, turned out to be rather picky. It did not sprout at all in the little portable hothouse, but for whatever reason, decided to sprout in the ground, direct seeded. Hooray!

My Dolce Vita F-1 Spinach seedlings!

Perhaps I am MOST excited about my heirloom Brandywine and Stupice tomatoes… seeing as we moved out of Texas just 1 week before the 20+ tomatoes on my plants were ripe this summer *headdesk* Needless to say this is not the first time I’ve had tomato plants, but, again I stress, this IS the first time I’ve grown them from seed!  The Brandywine will produce 1 lb. pink-skinned fruits, while the Stupice will produce 1-3 oz. fruits, much smaller. In the past, my tomatoes have regularly split open under the scorching desert sun, 3,000 ft above sea level, but I’m hoping that this mild lowcountry South Carolina fall climate will be the perfect environment for prolific (and tasty!) plants.

Our Brandywine seedlings… oh how they start small!

I am currently awaiting the delivery of some organic veggie fertilizer and recycled tomato cages.

Soooo… that’s where we are right now! Hurricane Irene passed close enough to fill my 2 32-gallon rain bins with water, but did not produce enough wind or rain to drown my seeds or seedlings! I am so GRATEFUL! I know I was a crazy woman direct-seeding 4 days before Irene’s arrival… but, then again, I’ve always been a risk-taker 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

