Skip to content

The Before And The After

October 6, 2011

Guest post by my husband, Yeadon!

I was born at an early age. *grin* Growing up, I was always active. I played outside with my brothers & sister non-stop. I rode my bike all over town, played on the playgrounds, was on the swim team, played sports, everything kids are “supposed to do”. So I never knew why I was always the heavy brother. As I grew up, I wasn’t obese, but I kept growing out at the same rate I grew up! Then after college I began serious weight gain. Ten pounds a year from age 24-29. I was in trouble.

For all those years, I felt trapped. I was going in a direction I knew was wrong, but I didn’t know what to do to change course. My family & friends around me didn’t realize what was happening. But I looked at myself in the mirror and I knew the truth. I knew where I was going to end up. I looked at myself and saw how unhealthy I had become. And to make matters worse, I was pulling my family with me & I didn’t even realize it.

I thought, “Is this really who I am?” I didn’t know myself as having been anything else really.

My wife was on the normal track of weight gain after having children and I was unaware of it.

But then God…

How many times in my life has that phrase happened at just the right moment!? Katia LeMone, our midwife, had been losing weight steadily all through our pregnancy journey with our second child, Phineas. Honestly it was a little old, because every time we saw her she couldn’t help herself from saying what her progress was so far. “Another ten pounds!,” she said almost every visit. Finally, after she had lost 100 lbs I realized I needed to change. I decided to see if what was working for her could help me. The rest is history!

Katia was the instrument God used in my life to coach me from my unhealthy habits to my lifestyle of health. I couldn’t believe what happened! I went from 239 lbs to 180 lbs and have never looked back! But that really isn’t the best part. The best part is that I began paying it forward to be God’s instrument in others’ lives. My wife, my parents, some of the college students who worked with me in ministry, many others and many more to come. If you are like me and you feel trapped by life and the constant stream of unhealthy pressure, please don’t wait as long as I did to change your course. You can do it, and I can help you.

Yeadon August 2010                                              Yeadon Thanksgiving 2010

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

